REGISTER NOW – 83rd International Board of Governors meeting at Hebrew U

HomeEventsREGISTER NOW – 83rd International Board of Governors meeting at Hebrew U

Jerusalem, Israel


Sunday, October 25, 2020 - Monday, October 26, 2020

The original date of the Board of Governors of June 12-17, 2020 has been moved forward to October 25-26 because of the COVID-19 pandemic. This will now be held as a virtual meeting. Register below!

BOG 2020 - New Dates - October 25-26, 2020

Monette Malewski, CFHU National Chair, invites you to participate in

The Annual Meeting of the Hebrew University Board of Governors in Jerusalem, October 25 – 26, 2020

CLICK HERE TO ATTEND

Rivlin - Harari - Kornberg- Soreq - Levy

Highlights include

  • Special Greetings from the President of Israel, Reuven (Ruvi) Rivlin
  • Highlights of the Hebrew University’s role in tackling the Coronavirus
  • Interview with bestselling author, Prof. Yuval Noah Harari
  • An interview featuring Nobel laureate Prof. Roger Kornberg and Hebrew University Prof. Hermona Soreq
  • A dialogue between French philosopher and Hebrew University Honorary Doctorate recipient, Bernard-Henri Lévy and Hebrew University Vice President Ambassador Yossi Gal
  • A musical performance, and other surprises

**Note that Israel ends daylight saving time on October 25 and changes to winter time, and the hours below have taken this into account.

Sunday October 5th, 2020

2:30 – 3:30pm EDT • 1:30-2:30pm CDT • 11:30am-12:30pm PDT • 8:30-9:30 pm IST

  • Opening remarks by Romi Noimark, journalist and anchor at the Israeli Public Broadcasting Corporation
  • Special Greetings from the President of Israel, Reuven (Ruvi) Rivlin
  • Opening Greetings from the Chairman of the Board of Governors, Dan Schlessinger and from the President of The Hebrew University, Prof. Asher Cohen
  • Video clip: The Hebrew University in the Age of the Coronavirus
  • Interview with Prof. Yuval Noah Harari on The Era of the Coronavirus: Living in a New Reality
  • Closing Remarks

Monday October 26, 2020

11:30am – 2:05pm EDT • 10:30am-1:05pm CDT • 8:30am-11:05 PDT • 5:30-8:05 pm IST

  • 5:30-5:40 pm – Greetings from the University administration
  • 5:40-5:55 pm – Report by the President of the University, Prof. Asher Cohen
  • 5:55-6:10 pm – A one-on-one interview with the President of the University and Patricia Glaser, a leading US litigator and a Hebrew University Honorary Doctorate recipient.
  • 6:10-6:15 pm – A special tribute to honor Barbara and Mort Mandel, z”l
  • 6:15-6:25 pm – Report by the Rector of the University, Prof. Barak Medina
  • 6:25-6:45 pm – Student life in the shadow of the Coronavirus: a panel discussion between the Rector, Dean of Students, Prof. Guy Harpaz, students and faculty. The panel will be moderated by Prof. Mona Khoury-Kassabri, Dean of The Paul Baerwald School of Social Work and Social Welfare
  • 6:45-6:55 pm – A virtual tour of the Wall of Benefactors, Wall of Life, Legacy Tree, and Wall of Founders and Trustees
  • 6:55-7:10 pm – Report by Vice President for Research and Development, Prof. Re’em Sari
  • 7:10-7:20 pm – Brief report by Prof. Yinon Ashkenazy, Racah Institute of Physics on HUJI Interdisciplinary team contributions to Covid mitigation strategies in Israel
  • 7:20-7:35 pm – Interview featuring Nobel laureate Prof. Roger Kornberg and Hebrew University Prof. Hermona Soreq
  • 7:35-8:00 pm – French philosopher, and Hebrew University Honorary Doctorate recipient, Bernard-Henri Lévy will be interviewed by Hebrew University Vice President Ambassador Yossi Gal
  • 8:00-8:05 pm – Closing remarks by the President of the University followed by a musical performance by Bo and the HUJIs, a group of researchers who combine science and medicine with their love of music.

*Please note that the times above are in Israel time.

**Note that Israel ends daylight saving time on October 25 and changes to winter time, and the above hours have taken this into account.

The events will be broadcast via Zoom and other platforms.

BOG 2020 - October 25-26, 2020

City Tags

Go to Top