Hebrew University Researchers Awarded 3 Of The 8 EMET Prizes for 2016

Bookmark and Share

Hebrew University EMET Prize Winners 2016

Jerusalem, December 4, 2016 — The awarding of the prestigious EMET Prize will take place this evening at the Jerusalem Theatre with the participation of the Prime Minister of Israel. This year, researchers from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem will be awarded prizes in three of the five award categories, and will account for three of the eight EMET Prizes awarded in 2016.

The Hebrew University researchers are:

  • Prof. Yehuda Bauer, Winner in Humanities (Holocaust Research): Awarded for multifaceted research that raised public awareness of the Holocaust and influenced the study of the Holocaust and the public discourse in Israel and worldwide on antisemitism, the Holocaust and genocide. Prof. Bauer is the Jonah M. Machover Professor Emeritus of Holocaust Studies, and the Pela and Adam Starkopf Professor Emeritus, at the Hebrew University.
  • Prof. David Kazhdan, winner in Exact Sciences (Mathematics): Awarded for major contributions in the design of representation theory and its uses in algebra, algebraic geometry and number theory.
  • Prof. Haim Sompolinsky, winner in Life Sciences (Brain Research): Awarded for establishing the theoretical framework for understanding the principles of brain function and the behavior of neuronal networks, and for shaping brain theories into a systematic discipline using methods borrowed from statistical mechanics. Prof. Sompolinsky is the William N. Skirball Professor of Neurophysics at the Hebrew University.
  • http://en.emetprize.org/laureates/life-sciences/brain-research/haim-sompolinsky

The Hebrew University congratulates all of the Emet Prize winners on this well-deserved recognition of their many years of research in different academic fields.

The EMET Prize is awarded annually for excellence in academic and professional achievements that have far-reaching influence and significant contribution to society. The Prizes, in a total amount of one million Dollars, are sponsored by the A.M.N. Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Art and Culture in Israel, under the auspices of and in cooperation with the Prime Minister of Israel. The Prizes are awarded annually in the following categories: The Exact Sciences, Life Sciences, Social Sciences, Humanities & Judaism, Art and Culture. The A.M.N. Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Art and Culture was founded in 1999 by Alberto Moscona Nisim, a Mexican friend of Israel. More information at http://en.emetprize.org.

Follow us:

Visit our facebook page.TwitterInstagram

CFHU is dedicated to supporting IMRIC through direct funding and by developing key collaborative medical research partnerships between Canada
and Israel.


Get Involved!

Sign Up