Four Hebrew University Faculty Elected To American Academy Of Arts & Sciences

Bookmark and Share

Will Be Inducted With 213 Scholars, Artists, Philanthropists and Business Leaders Joining Academy

Jerusalem, April 21, 2016 – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has announced the election of 213 new members, including some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, as well as civic, business, and philanthropic leaders.

AAAS Inductees from Hebrew U

Among those elected into this newest class of distinguished members are four Hebrew University of Jerusalem faculty members:

  • Prof. Robert Benny Gerber, The Saerree K. and Louis P. Fiedler Chair in Chemistry, in the Institute Of Chemistry;
  • Prof. Sergiu Hart, The Alice Kusiel and Kurt Vorreuter University Professor, and Professor of Mathematics and Economics, in the Federmann Center for the Study of Rationality;
  • Prof. Menachem Magidor,  Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, in the Einstein Institute of Mathematics, and a Former President of the Hebrew University; and
  • Prof. Zeev Sternhell, The Leon Blum Professor Emeritus of Political Science, in the Department of Political Science.

"The Hebrew University congratulates its distinguished faculty members on their election to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences,” said Prof. Menahem Ben-Sasson, President of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. “Our faculty members' many contributions to research and academia, and the international recognition thereof, is the basis of the Hebrew University's status as one of the leading universities worldwide.”

American Academy of Arts & Sciences“It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, Chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “Their election affords us an invaluable opportunity to bring their expertise and knowledge to bear on some of the most significant challenges of our day. We look forward to engaging these new members in the work of the Academy.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 8, 2016, in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Members of the 2016 class include winners of the Pulitzer Prize and the Wolf Prize; MacArthur and Guggenheim Fellowships; the Fields Medal; and the Grammy Award and National Book Award. The complete list of the 236th class of new members is online at

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of America’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing the nation and the world. Current Academy research focuses on higher education, the humanities, and the arts; science and technology policy; global security and energy; and American institutions and the public good. The Academy’s work is advanced by its elected members, who are leaders in the academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs from around the world.

Follow us:

Visit our facebook page.TwitterInstagram

CFHU is dedicated to supporting IMRIC through direct funding and by developing key collaborative medical research partnerships between Canada
and Israel.


Get Involved!

Sign Up