The World Science Conference – Israel (WSCI)

Bookmark and Share

Saturday, August 15, 2015 (All day) to Thursday, August 20, 2015 (All day)

The World Science Conference – Israel (WSCI) is a joint initiative of Nobel Laureate Professor Roger Kornberg, The Hebrew University, the Ministry of Science and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Students 17-21 years old from around the world will participate in an intensive ­ program. They will attend lectures, interact with, and be inspired by Nobel Laureates, Wolf Prize and Fields Medal winners and other leading scientists. The students will also have the unique opportunity meeting some 400 bright young people from fi­ve continents, doubtless including some of the next generation of leading scientists. The WSCI will take place at the Edmond J. Safra campus of The Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel.

The WSCI will be exceptional in the number of eminent scientists participating, the range of disciplines, and outreach to youth from more than 70 countries. This “once-in-a-life-time experience” will encourage the young participants to take up the challenge of advancing science and technology. It will also help to develop international friendships and cooperation, transcending barriers of nationality and geographical distance, forging personal contacts among young people, and creating young ambassadors of tolerance and understanding. The WSCI will emphasize the strengths, advantages and outstanding features of the “Israeli spirit” of innovation that combines basic and applied science in Israel. Alongside the activities for the young scientists, the WSCI will include sessions that bring together eminent scientists with leaders of industry in Israel and abroad, with the aim of enhancing connections between basic science and its applications.

Many Hebrew University professors and innovators will speak at WSCI on a variety of topics including physics, computer engineering, brain sciences, chemistry, nanotechnology and more. Nobel Laureates participating in the conference are:

  • Prof. Zhores I. Alferov, Physics, 2000

  • Prof. Sidney Altman, Chemistry, 1989
Prof. Robert J. Aumann, Economic Sciences 2005
Prof. Aaron Chiechanover, Chemistry, 2004
Prof. Steven Chu, Physics 1997

  • Prof. Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Physics, 1997
Prof. David J. Gross, Physics 2004
Prof. Roger D. Kornberg, Chemistry 2006
Sir Prof. Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry, 1996
Prof. Elon Lindenstrauss, Fields Medal, 2010
Prof. Richard J. Roberts, Physiology or Medicine 1993
  • Prof. Dan Schechtman, Chemistry 2011

  • Prof. Harold E. Varmus, Physiology or Medicine, 1989

  • Prof. Arieh Warshel, Chemistry 2013

  • Prof. Ada Yonath, Chemistry, 2009

Learn more about WSCI here or follow on Facebook.

Follow us:

Visit our facebook page.TwitterInstagram

CFHU is dedicated to supporting IMRIC through direct funding and by developing key collaborative medical research partnerships between Canada
and Israel.


Get Involved!

Sign Up