Canadians Honoured at the 76th Board of Governors Conference

Bookmark and Share

76th Board of Governors Meeting

At the recently held 76th Board of Governors Meeting of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, several distinguished Canadians were honoured and many scholarships were given from Canadian donors to worthy Hebrew University student recipients.

Highlights included: the annual Canadian awards evening, 4 Special Canadian dedications took place to honour individuals who have contributed generously to Hebrew University over the years, outgoing CFHU National Chairman Nathan Lindendberg was conferred with an Honourary Fellowship, Michael Levy and Family were honoured at the Wall of Benefactors in addition to the dedication of the Michael L. Levy Family Auditorium at IMRIC, Lillian & Bryant Shiller and Michael & April Rosenfeld were honoured at the Wall of Life.

Incoming CFHU National Chairman Murray PalayProf. Amir AmediBernie Shuster

Also taking place at the Board of Governors was the dedication of the Miniature Integrated Systems Laboratory at the Peter Brojde Centre for Innovative Engineering and Computer Science with Anna Brojde and her children Ari & Robyn Brojde present.

Baird and GlassmanAt the annual Canadian dinner special guests included Canada’s Foreign Affairs Minister The Hon. John Baird bringing greetings from the Canadian government and congratulating Canadian Friends on their work in support of the Hebrew University; also in attendance was Canadian Ambassador to Israel Paul Hunt. Outgoing CFHU National Chairman Nathan Lindenberg was honoured for his dedication and commitment to CFHU, ending his 4 year term. Murray Palay was installed as CFHU National Chairman, marking the first time a chairman has been selected west of Ontario.

Charles Rose - winner of the Searching For The Next Einstein contestDuring the evening scholarship awards were given to deserving Hebrew University students. IMRIC Scholarship Awards included: The Rose Marie and Leon Glassman Doctoral Scholarships at IMRIC, Alex Soyka z’l Doctoral Scholarships at IMRIC, Lenny Shapiro Doctoral Scholarships, The Lillian and Bryant Shiller Doctorate Scholarship, Scholarship Awards at the Peter Brojde Centre for Innovative Engineering and Computer Science. Also awarded were the Ph.D Prizes in Excellence, each Prize matched by the Hebrew University giving each recipient a substantial award that can be of significant assistance in his or her studies or research.  Prizes awarded included:  The Stephen and Irene Lipper Prizes in Jewish Studies, Stephen Robert z"l Memorial Prize in International Relations, The Alan Brown z"l Memorial Prize in Environmental Studies, The Maurice and Faye Kaufman z"l Memorial Prize, The Johanna Friedlander z"l Memorial Prize, David Kline Prize in Dentistry, Berta Lunenfeld Prize in Cancer Research.  

Charles Rose, the grand prize winner of the “Searching for the Next Einstein” online contest presented his winning Big Idea at the Canadian dinner. Charles’ idea was chosen over thousands of entrants for his innovative concept of developing photosynthetic dragonflies for the purpose of balancing the ecosystem. As the contest winner, Charles was awarded $10,000 and a trip to Israel to experience the Hebrew University first hand. 

Click here for an extensive photo gallery with images from the CFHU dinner, the Dedication of the Michael L. Levy Family Auditorium at IMRIC, Benefactors Dedication, Honourary Fellowships, the Dedication of the Brojde Miniature Integrated Systems Laboratory, and Wall of Life Honourees.



Video Highlights - click each image for videos from Ari Brojde, Michael Levy, and the Shillers:

Ari BrojdeMichael LevyBryant and Lillian Shiller

Michael L. Levy Family Auditorium at IMRIC and Wall of Benefactors:

  • Click here for the Levy Family bio and award details.

Levy Family and dedication of auditorium

Honorary Fellowship Recipient:

  • Outgoing CFHU National Chairman Nathan Lindenberg. Click here for his bio and award details.

Nathan Lindenberg - Fellowship

Dedication of the Miniature Integrated Systems Laboratory at the Peter Brojde Centre:

  • Click here for the Brojde family bio and lab dedication details.

Brojde dedication


Wall of Life Honourees:

  • Lillian & Bryant Shiller. Click here for their bio and award details.

Lillian & Bryant Shiller

  • Michael & April Rosenfeld. Click here for their bio and award details.

Michael & April Rosenfeld



Click here for photo highlights from Tomorrow: The Israeli Presidential Conference.


Follow us:

Visit our facebook page.TwitterInstagram

CFHU is dedicated to supporting IMRIC through direct funding and by developing key collaborative medical research partnerships between Canada
and Israel.


Get Involved!

Sign Up